Search This Blog

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Mango Sauce

This sauce is great for teff waffles, crepes, pancakes, and vanilla Coconut Bliss "ice cream." It's super easy to make, which always helps.

Mango Sauce
makes enough for 2 hungry pancake eaters, or 4 ice cream bowls

6 oz (appx 1 cup) chopped mango (frozen is fine)
2 TB lemon juice
2 TB orange juice
3 TB maple syrup
1 TB tapioca starch

Put the ingredients in a small sauce pan, except the tapioca starch. Turn the pan on to medium, and while the pan is heating up, put the tapioca in a small bowl with enough water to liquefy the starch. Put the starch in the pan and stir occasionally. Once the mixture has gone from cloudy to clear and a little gooey, it's done!

Today is a short, easy post. It was my first day back to work for a full work week and waking up at 5AM to catch the bus. Lance had the day off, and I can tell he and Annie had a lot of fun because she is so tired. And bugging me to sit down and pet her. Lance is her fun time buddy and I'm her snuggle buddy. It all works out.

Pet me, hold me, DO SOMETHING!

Coming soon: Adventures with eliminating tree nuts! A lot of my cookie and breakfast recipes are tree nut free, but I've come to rely on them with cakes and cupcakes for that wonderful, buttery richness. They really help achieve a superior texture, which means I'll be tinkering around with new techniques.


  1. Sounds delicious! I just got some frozen TJs mangos. I was thinking of making one of your muffins for Chris. He is sad I haven't made a baked good in awhile.

  2. Cute dog!

    This totally has almost nothing to do with your post, but I am curious if you ever found a Corn Free, Tree Nut Free, Peanut Free, Top 8 free, Vegan Cheese? Dr. Cow uses Nuts, so thats out. Daiya and Galaxy both use corn. Galaxy does use a "rice maltodextrin" but, a research told me that rice maltodextrin usually contains potato and corn, especially if its Organic. Even they say that they aren't corn free.

    And, if you have, does it even melt good enough for Mac N cheese?

    The reason why I ask is I'm starting a recipe blog for people with allergies, and with all the research I've done, I've never found such a cheese. Instead, I found corn is in everything, and if they leave out the corn, they add in nuts. I just thought it would be really cool to have a Mac N cheese dish that was top allergies free, and Corn free.

  3. TJ's is actually the brand I used :)

    Kytriya - Cheese substitutes are tough. I haven't found any without corn, soy, dairy, or tree nuts. Even some of the tree nut cheese have casein (milk protein) in them, which is disturbing. Most of the "cheese" spreads and sauces I use are tree nut based - BUT - I do have a really tasty vegan cream of mushroom soup I have thickened to make an alfredo sauce. The recipe is on this blog. The base is zucchini, and the trick is not overcooking them. It's deceptively creamy. If you were to, say, add chickpea (soy free) miso, apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, and salt, you may have a cheddar like taste. Add a little tapioca starch while cooking and you'd get the consistency as well. I may have to toy around with that :)

  4. Thanks for the tip! I was thinking about Zucchini used as cheese, but was unsure of the spices to use.

    Galaxy Foods just got back to me, and their Cheese is supposed to be Corn free, in that no corn protein actually gets transferred over into the final product.

    Here is the quote:
    Although our Lactic Acid is produced by the fermentation of cornstarch, there is no transfer of corn protein to any of our alternative cheeses, and therefore, all are corn free and safe for those with corn allergies to consume without issue. In regards to your cross contamination concern...... We take our customers dietary challenges very serious, and make every effort to insure there is no cross contamination. Our facilities follow strict safety measures and cleaning procedures to insure the environment of our products. Lastly, you had a second inquiry regarding "organic rice maltodextrin." Rest assured in our Rice Vegan cheeses, the maltodextrin is derived from organic rice, not corn."

    Their Rice cheese doesn't melt very well, but it appears to be top 8 free now. However, I still have a hard time recommending them due to their 'texture' is gritty. They don't grind their rice to a fine enough powder.

    Quote from their website:

    Ingredients: organic rice base (filtered water, organic rice flour), organic rice maltodextrin, rice bran oil, pea protein, calcium & sodium phosphates, contains 2% or less of sea salt, carrageenan, mono & diglycerides, natural flavors, lactic acid (non-dairy), riboflavin.

  5. Welll....I still might be slightly nervous. EnjoyLife uses Chocolate Liquor from corn, but the distilling process is supposed to remove all corn proteins. My nephew still breaks out in a rash if he has them. We're sure they are the chocolate chips because he has all other ingredients in other items and is fine. So, I suppose it all depends on how sensitive the person is. I'm moderately allergic to corn and do just fine.

    Carageenan is something I definitely avoid. It's used to simulate inflammation in wounds and intestines in laboratory animals. I should post about that ingredient now that I think of it....